Who Let the Dogs Out

Ethan, the four year old autistic one?  He sometimes acts like he’s a dog.

He flounces around on all fours, barks, and brings stuff to me in his mouth.  He even licks me, but that could just be unresolved oral issues.

I humor him, because I think it could be a useful skill at some point.  You know – “bring me my slippers, honey” or “bite that intruder!”

But now little Beckett is doing it.  He’s only 21 months, and he is so stinkin’ cute with his little puppy noises, I can’t stand it.  He crawls over to me when I sit on the floor and nuzzles his little soft head in my lap and my heart just goes goosh.  So I let him do it, too.

What I’m wondering is, am I helping solidify some kind of maladaptive means of them getting their needs met?  Is Ethan going to bite strangers like he now bites his brother and me?  Is Beckett going to be labeled a weirdo because he wants to be scratched behind the ears by his girlfriend?

These are the things that worry me as a parent.  I don’t want to end up on some National Geographic special with kids that can’t speak but only make barking sounds while bounding around the fenced-in back yard.

But I think the problem has resolved itself.  Tonight they threw cereal around on the floor and got down on their hands and knees to eat it.

And Ethan said, “Look, mom!  We’re chickens!”

8 Responses to “Who Let the Dogs Out”

  1. Mine are monkeys…most definitely monkeys.

    Sometimes chickens. Sometimes dinosaurs. But usually monkeys.

  2. Nora went through a very long dog phase where we had to call her Sniffles. I got very tired of Sniffles, and of cutting apples into little bite-size chunks for her “food”. And if you consider Nora normal, then you can lean back and relax.

  3. Bunny Says:

    My Genie acts like a dog too! Oh – wait a minute – she IS a dog. Never mind.

  4. Jamie Says:

    MJ insists her name is princess all the time- what have we created with giving into that demand?? If I say to her “honey can you come here so I can do your hair..” her response is “I not honey my name is princess.” Or Mary Jane it is time for bed “I not Mary Jane I’m princess.” Talk about her poor husband if she does not grow out of this one! She could also make for a fun teenager if she still insists she is a princess!

  5. Every time my sister brings her dog for a visit, my 2 year old wants to eat off the floor. Last time I didn’t even stop him as he spread his Annie’s Cheddar bunnies all over my kitchen , I just grabbed the video camera.

    We call it dramatic play.

    • The perfect solution! Education begins at home. 🙂 I have a photo of my daughter eating cheerios out of a cat dish. She probably wishes I didn’t.
      Thanks for stopping by, Allie. Hope to see you again!

Leave a comment