It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad…um…yeah.

I had a few (relatively) quiet minutes the other morning, so I clicked around trying to catch up on my blog reading.

BIG mistake.

First, I learned about “the neg.”  Didn’t that used to be called something like “Pride and Prejudice?”  And then it morphed into the “bad boy appeal,” then became “codependency,” right?  How delightful to take something old and make it fresh and new again.

Here is a succinct overview of “the neg” by fellow blogger Ozma:

The neg’ is a pickup technique where a man both insults and compliments an attractive woman. For example, “I like your haircut. Why do you wear it so short?” “Interesting shirt. What’s with the buttons?” I’m no expert on the neg, but I think it has to be ambiguous and yet undermine the woman’s sense of herself. It is supposed to be used on beautiful women. I’m not sure if it only works on them.

I’m not one to brag, but it’s been known to work on me.  For what it’s worth.

I just don’t see anything new here.  I was asked by my husband (a very super nice guy) what the appeal is about “bad boys.”  My answer was, “You should know.  It’s the same as the appeal of  “bad girls,” which you obviously like or you wouldn’t be with me.”

I’m not saying it’s good.  I’m saying we all have our pathologies.  Do your best (like Ozma did) to make sure being insulted isn’t your kid’s.

12 Responses to “It’s a Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad, Mad…um…yeah.”

  1. I like your blog. What’s with the knitting and breastfeeding?

  2. A professional ADD sufferer sounds like an interesting profession. What are the hours? Is the pay any good?

    • Gee, Alan. What do you think? I do get room and board, though. My guess is I’m good for sheer entertainment value. That and the whole “homemaker” thing (which I truly suck at but do attempt from time to time). 😉

  3. I think you should keep him. We can call him Winky McStrokester.

    I too have major problems keeping focused. Like one time, I… Oh look! There’s a squirrel in my backyard. I like squirrels…

  4. Nice!!!

    😉

  5. I always had too many drinks to execute a plan. Now days all these techniques are studied and named. I was an idiot. It is a miracle I got anyone much less a beautiful girl like my wife.

    Linked from parent bloggers. Nice site.

    • If only they’d warned girls about these things back then! Unfortunately, I always had too many drinks to notice schmuckery. Hmmm…a new word! Thanks for visiting, and the very kind compliment. 🙂

Leave a Reply

