Too Long For Twitter

It’s hot and my feet are old.  It used to be that I had time to make myself into a girl, but now it’s all I can do to make myself get up.  All I want right now is to put down this laundry and this sad life and put on lip gloss that smells like fruity bubblegum.  I want to walk down the street and get whistled at.  I want to climb trees.  I want to skip school and meet you in the Chinese gardens again.  I want to hop trains like we used to and end up somewhere new.

I want to make sangria and drink it around a bonfire with everyone happy under the trellis that I helped build so many years ago.

I want to swim naked in the creeks again in the moonlight and pretend it will always be like this.  I want to jump off the rock by the waterfall and into the water and go under and this time maybe never emerge from the cool, sweet darkness of being young.

11 Responses to “Too Long For Twitter”

  1. I too, want you to be able to swim naked in creeks. Sweet prose poem though, you’re very talented.

    • Thank you again, Fundamental. I can call you Fundamental, right?

      I know I’m all over the place on this thing. I’m still getting used to having readers besides my mother and my best friend. Wait a minute, who am I kidding? I’d never tell my mother about the blog. Then I’d have to leave out all the stuff about my terrible childhood.

  2. holy shit, *applause*

  3. That is fabulous!

  4. Beautiful writing. Makes me want to have lived your childhood.

    Why is it we humans can’t enjoy things in the moment? I have taken my youth for granted, and now looking back – all I want is to be 16 again. Years from now I will say GOSH wasn’t it great being 23?

    • It’s funny – my youth was actually pretty awful, but had these beautiful moments. And honestly, I would not do one minute of it over. I like where I am, even though I have a long way to go to be where I want.

      Except I wish I had that body back. So enjoy that part of being 23 for sure. 😉

      Thank you for your compliment, Tara. I hope you’ll come back.

  5. I am so, so, so with you. I had my first hair cut in 11 months yesterday, and even that was a rush because the baby was crying for me. What I wouldn’t give to run away to a different life for a little while.

  6. Your feet look sooo young! I love this post. I’m right there with ya sistah.

    I don’t get whistled at either. Yeah, it’s more like “Hey lady, get outta the way so I can check out the hot thang walking behind you!”

    I wish guys knew how much it would mean to a woman in her 40’s (that’s me) if someone whistled.

  7. Youth palls after a while. I think 40s are the best decade. Play your cards right and you’ll still get the whistles 😉

Leave a Reply

