Piecemeal: The Tortoise Wins Again

I’m in the process of printing out all the posts on this blog so I can look at them as a whole.  Essentially, I’m copying and pasting everything into one gigantic Word document.  And I’ll be damned if I don’t have a book’s worth of words.

I have spent nearly my whole life dreaming of one day being a published author.  But every time I’ve come up with some idea, I’ve looked at it as a whole and the thing was so intimidating I couldn’t even start.

But I’ve made myself sit here and type almost every day for months now, until my legs fall asleep and my ass hurts, and the more I write, the more I have to say.

I never believed all those people who say you just have to write sometimes whether you feel like it or not.

Until now.

Not everything that shows up here is a gem.  I know when I’ve written a dud, but if it’s polished enough, I’ll let it stand if it means I’ve met my personal deadline.  It’s an exercise in discipline for a person who is an expert procrastinator.

Like right now, I don’t know where to go with this.  But that’s okay.  I’ve given you another glimpse, another piece of amazing from me, whom I’ve never thought was all that amazing.

But maybe, just the tiniest bit, I kinda am.

7 Responses to “Piecemeal: The Tortoise Wins Again”

  1. I agree that blogging has proven passively, sneakily, useful for collecting material. I hope your Story comes together in due time. I believe that it will.

  2. It is exactly that glimpse of fellow bloggers that assures me that in this age where I don’t know all my neighbors, human connection is still happening.

    On another note – someone needs to create software to print out a blog in book form. I mean it is just an xml file…hmmm. I want to do the same for my journey to motherhood for my daughter. Calling all programers!

  3. HALLO!

    My friend Timmy’s friend AJ is a writer. He trained as a writer but doesnt write due to lazyness. You’re obviously not a lazy person, so start writing! LOSTL!

    As long as you dont steal my life story away, ill read your book! LOSTL!

    But seriously though, The only person stopping you is you, so tell them to get out of the way already, you’ve got work to do!

    Bob

  4. I’m so excited that you’re finally seeing what we’ve seen all along! Can’t wait to see how you pull it all together. You might find material for 2 books….

    p.s. I’m so envious of the commitment you and melissa have made this past year….I’m so not there yet. I keep telling myself that I’ll find when all of my health issues are resolved – but, maybe that’s just my brand of procrastination 🙂

    • Sheryl, in defense of little Sheryl, I must say your posts are much more thorough and informed than mine are. I often sacrifice in-depth exploration for speed, which is not always up to the quality I’d like. But I know I can do “journalism.” What I didn’t know was whether I could force myself to be disciplined. I guess now I can show discipline, for the first time in my life, about anything. Thanks for the visit – hope to see you soon 🙂

Leave a Reply

