Fiber Friday: Creative Conspiracy Artisan Event in Montclair, NJ

I know it is Saturday.  Let’s call it solipsism Saturday and I’m telling myself it’s Friday.  Since I’m the only one who counts, I can do whatever I want.

While visiting my mother this week, I set off to my favorite LYS, which is not really my local yarn store, but it is semi-local to my mother.  I punched in the address on the new Garmin Nuvi (might be my favorite toy ever, but only if you don’t count the Kindle) and flounced all the way over to Montclair to buy some stash at Modern Yarn.

And they were closed.

But while puttering around this awesome little town (nothing up here should ever be referred to as “little”) I walked by a storefront that had a bunch of folks selling their indie-crafted wares during an event called “Creative Conspiracy.”

I was smitten, I tell you!  It was everything I have wanted to do with a local art market in Lynchburg, and it was put together by Bridgett Artise, who recently had her book Born-Again Vintage published.  She gathered together talented folks from NY and NJ to show their work, sell some things, network, and enjoy a four day extravaganza featuring a book signing, fashion and hair shows, light food, mocktails, free makeovers and free chair massages.  She obviously knows how to draw a crowd.

She also knows how to make unique items from thrift store finds.  She takes interesting elements from vintage clothing and assembles them into something fresh.  Remember those old afghans crocheted from a rainbow of yarn?  She made one into a vest.  Did I mention amazing?  She’s saving landfills everywhere.

I bought a couple of goodies while I was there, but not nearly as much as I would have liked.  I scored a great notebook/journal from Vernakular, and some gift tags that I will never give up from The Tagonista.  She does not have a website yet, but she can be reached at thetagonista [AT] aol [DOT] com.  Her tags feature clever wordplay definitions like: twitterhea – too many twitters per hour, or chairdrobe – the chair that acts as a collection spot for all your clothes (not to be confused with the Floordrobe).  I bought those two designs, but I don’t really know anything about stuff like that.  Ahem.

I also got to chat with Makeba Lloyd, the owner of Butter by Keba, a line of intoxicatingly scented, natural body products.  She actually asked me if I’m a journalist.  I almost kissed her, but then informed her that I’m just a lunatic blogger who likes to write about crafty stuff once a week.

Finally, I spoke a bit with Nancy Redisch who makes handmade headpieces that are intricately woven from precious metal wire and beads and wow!  Beautiful, and a lot of work.  She was helpful, and had a variety of items to fit any budget.  She also gave me a new perspective on what will draw vendors to participate in these events.

This happening brings together some established shop-owners, as well as more novice artisans.  The displays were gorgeous; this is something I’d like to get better at.  The space, at 10 South Park St. in Montclair, NJ, was open and lofty and spare.  Perfect for an art market or craft fair.  I walked away with some goodies, and some fresh ideas for the next Lynchburg event.

Creative Conspiracy continues this weekend, beginning at noon today.  Each day brings new events and different luxury treatments.  Go try a henna tattoo, get your kids’ faces painted or caricatures drawn, or sit for a chair massage and hair styling.  Then go ahead and get your holiday shopping out of the way.

You’ll be so relaxed, you won’t even realize you spent all your money supporting indie crafters.

11 Responses to “Fiber Friday: Creative Conspiracy Artisan Event in Montclair, NJ”

  1. Sounds like fun!

    Our neighbourhood is kind of funky. It seems like every week there is a craft fair or show of some sort going on. There’s one major one in the summer in the local park that brings in hundreds of indie craft people. You can score everything from fabulous homemade goods to incredible one of a kind handmade clothes to… Well, the list is endless. Last year my lovely wife and I picked up the most amazing iron clock. What really amazes and impresses me though is the all the time dedication that these good people put into their craft. Most every weekend of theirs is spent traveling to the next craft show. I can’t imagine how time consuming that must be. But clearly it’s a labor of love for them… Like you, I’m all for supporting the indie crafters.

    • This really was fun. Wish I could go back, but I’m tired and sick and have to drive home tomorrow. I’ll have to make the next one in my town this good. Except, when you’re the organizer, you don’t get to enjoy it much. Unless you are a slacker. Which I am.

  2. […] Secret Tattoo placed an interesting blog post on Fiber Friday: Creative Conspiracy Artisan Event in Montclair, NJHere’s a brief overview…be confused with the Floordrobe).  I bought those two designs, but I … events and different luxury treatments.  Go try a henna tattoo, get […]

  3. Slacker? You? I figured you as more of a flouncer. 🙂

    Have a safe trip home. Hope you’re feeling better soon.

  4. See, when I saw the header “Fiber Friday,” I just thought of several generous trips to “Bathroom Saturday.” But I get it now.

  5. Boy, nested comments sure would be nice. There’s probably a way to do it, but as I said, I’m a slacker.
    A certain immigrant/felon on the lam once told me he’d be back for Scatalogical Saturday. I keep trying to find a suitable topic, but alas – I cannot. I’ve worked hard to attract my four readers, and I’d hate to lose them.

  6. And also, I’ve edited the post. Check out paragraph two, Bonanza Jellybean and Alan. I mean, Fundamental. Wrong Jelly, sorry.

  7. Hahaha! I like the edits! Can’t help but wonder what Freud would say about them…

  8. […] Barely Knit Together added an interesting post today on Fiber Friday: Creative Conspiracy Artisan Event in Montclair, NJHere’s a small readingI know it is Saturday.  Let’s call it solipsism Saturday and I’m telling myself it’s Friday.  Since I’m the only one who counts, I can do whatever I want. While visiting my mother this week, I set off to my favorite LYS, which is not really my local yarn store, but it is semi-local to my mother.  I punched in the address on the new Garmin Nuvi (might be my favorite toy ever, but only if you don’t count the Kindle) and flounced all the way over to Montclair to buy some stash at Modern Yarn.  […]

  9. […] and Millions versus Democracy and Security…An Ode to the Undead « Cinema and Me…Fiber Friday: Creative Conspiracy Artisan Event in Montclair, NJ « Barely Knit Together… « Neil Sedaka Jb And Sandy » © 2009 http://hot-news.dreamhosters.com/ […]

  10. […] barelyknittogether placed an observative post today on Fiber Friday: Creative Conspiracy Artisan Event in Montclair, NJ …Here’s a quick excerptSecret Tattoo placed an interesting blog post on Fiber Friday: Creative Conspiracy Artisan Event in Montclair, NJHere’s a brief overview…be confused with the Floordrobe). I bought those two designs, but I … events and different luxury … […]

Leave a Reply

