Carnival of Play: Water Play Activities Part II

Children’s play is their work, and there is no reason it can’t be yours, also.  I have found some simple ways to include the kiddos in my chores, and this is my absolute favorite.

This is part two of my Carnival of Play post, inspired by Annie at PhD in Parenting.  Unfortunately, my floor-cleaning hasn’t happened in the last couple of weeks (don’t tell anyone) because I’ve been so busy, so there will be no pictures quite yet, but here is my super, secret, special way of getting my floor sparkly clean!

Sweep first.  Of course, one should know this, but if you clean house like I generally do, there’s a chance you might not.

Then gather together a bucket or basin of warm water, a bunch of rags and/or sponges, and a non-toxic cleanser of some kind.  You can actually use baking soda, or vinegar.  Mixing them essentially just gives you water and salt, though, so just use one.  I just use Seventh Generation free-and-clear dish liquid.

Dress the children (and yourself!) in something that you don’t mind getting wet.  Because friends, we are about to get wet.

Let the kids clean the floor.  Let them get soapy and wet and squishy and puddly.  Get that water on the floor, let them slide around on it (on their bottoms to prevent falls), let them squish the sponges and towels between their toes.  Have them “scrub” the floor with their cloths, and don’t worry about excess water.  But don’t let them have all the fun; get down there with them and slip around.  Experience the warm water, the bubbles, the silliness.

When you are finished, you will all grab a couple of old towels and push them around the floor until you’ve soaked it all up.  Maybe it will take three towels, or five.

In my book, an extra load of laundry is a small price to pay for a clean floor and two happy children.

I realize my parenting style is unconventional.  It’s not for everyone.

But if you need to work, and your children need to play, it seems like a pretty good plan to find ways to meet in the middle.

Happy cleaning playing, and while you are at it, check out these other excellent posts from the carnival of play:

6 Responses to “Carnival of Play: Water Play Activities Part II”

  1. I LOVE this idea! My floor is a disaster right now so I think I may just do this with the kiddos this afternoon. I am loving reading the Carnival of Play posts. They are SO GOOD!

  2. Mom Blogs – Blogs for Moms…

  3. […] Play: When in doubt, get wet! Check out these bath play ideas and cleaning up ideas from @Barely Knit […]

  4. Thanks so much for adding my link…I just discovered it (and your blog!) I’ll definitely return–thanks, again! ~Jessica (Mom, M.Ed.)

  5. […] Water Play Part 2 (by Jennifer @ BarelyKnitTogether) […]

  6. […] dishes and B drops the cup again, losing the rest of the chocolate milk. Decide today will be a floor clean up day. Reheat […]

Leave a Reply

