A Wolf in Human Clothing

My friend and coworker Julie challenged me to tackle the octo-mom issue the other day, and I told her I would.

But the thing is, I just don’t think I have it in me.

How can I rant about a woman who only wants more babies to love?  She just has so much to give!

And this despite the fact that when she had a mere six, the police were called to her home because a neighbor reported that the children looked dirty and hungry.  I mean, my children are filthy and they tell me they are hungry all the time. Am I supposed to just believe them?  Everyone knows children will manipulate you to get their way.

I really don’t see what the big deal is, anyway.  It’s not our money that’s supporting her.  It’s the government’s money. Right?  Oh, and the entertainment industry’s money, since I assume she’s getting some kind of swag for being the flavor of the month.  And we all continue to just eat it up.  And you know where the government gets its money.  Um…where do they get it?  Oh, yeah – US.

That’s right.  The “government” doesn’t have any money!  It’s ours!  Yours, mine, the greedy banker down the street and the sweet old lady that has dry cleaned your clothes for the last twenty years.  Oh, except it’s not Octomom’s  money.  Because she doesn’t pay any taxes.

I shouldn’t have to point out that the doctor who performed MULTIPLE in-vitro fertilization procedures on this women violated the Hippocratic oath of first do no harm (I pose that he brought harm to every child born to a woman incapable of providing for even one of them).

This is the perfect opportunity to encourage you to check out the movie Idiocracy, because it might just be one of my favorite movies ever.  It’s not spectacularly beautiful, it’s not moving or sweet or intense.  But it is funny.  Horrifyingly funny.

Take a look around.  Where do you think this country, if not the entire world, is going to end up within the next few generations?  I suspect I would be sniped if I go into the plot of the movie too much, but I highly recommend it if you have half a brain.  If you don’t have even half, well…you won’t get it.

I’m a true believer in natural selection.  Every year I applaud the Darwin award winners for doing us a favor.  The problem here is that if we let people like this fend for themselves, we leave children with nothing.  We can’t very well punish the innocent for the sins of their parents.

So, as I said, I just can’t tackle this problem.  Nothing shocks me anymore.  People are broken in some very real ways that make us behave abysmally.  I don’t have any great hope for a human future.

But I will leave you some food for thought regarding government, and the end of our useful life as a republic.  And then, finally, at the end – a joke:

A democracy cannot exist as a permanent form of government. It can only exist until the voters discover that they can vote themselves money from the public treasure. From that moment on the majority always votes for the candidates promising the most money from the public treasury, with the result that a democracy always collapses over loose fiscal policy followed by a dictatorship. The average age of the world’s great civilizations has been two hundred years. These nations have progressed through the following sequence: from bondage to spiritual faith, from spiritual faith to great courage, from courage to liberty, from liberty to abundance, from abundance to selfishness, from selfishness to complacency from complacency to apathy, from apathy to dependency, from dependency back to bondage.     ~Alexander Tyler

from BarelyKnitiPedia:

Democracy…Two wolves and a sheep voting on what to have for lunch.

Republic….Two wolves and an armed sheep.

2 Responses to “A Wolf in Human Clothing”

  1. Well, I’m sorry to have to be the one that tells you, you are wrong my dear; this “food for thought” doesn’t suck. Kudos!

    “Be who you are and say what you feel because those who mind don’t matter and those who matter don’t mind.” Dr. Seuss

  2. Jennifer Says:

    Yes and no.
    Some aspects of Darwinism are….not good.
    Maybe he had it all in the bag….maybe not. I mean if the parental stock is defective, shouldn’t nature select the kids for elimination too?
    Eugenics, man. Talk about not wanting the government all up in your bidness.

Leave a Reply

