The Things We Lose Sleep Over

Tonight at bed time, these are the questions I answered:

“But Mommy, what if the bugs come in and eat all my toys?”

“But Mommy, can’t we bring the TV back into your room from Ellie’s room because you said you were going to just do it for tonight!  Can’t we just take it?”

“But Mommy, why can’t I just put the waffles on the floor and have them in the morning?”

“But Mommy, what if the squirrels come in through the attic and down into the walls and into the floor between the second floor and the first floor and chew through the wires so our dining room light and the refrigerator and the toaster don’t work?”

Okay, well – that last one really happened, I just thought I would throw it in there.  Sometimes, imagination just can’t top reality.

5 Responses to “The Things We Lose Sleep Over”

  1. Sounds like home.

    My kids always want me to stay in bed with them for an extended cuddle time every night. In the summer I can always cut it short by reminding them that I need to get downstairs to clean up dinner or else the ants will come in. Freaks ’em out just enough, but not too much.

  2. thanks for the laugh, i needed it!

  3. ““But Mommy, what if the squirrels come in through the attic and down into the walls and into the floor between the second floor and the first floor and chew through the wires so our dining room light and the refrigerator and the toaster don’t work?””

    I imagined the same thing happening in an OLD house I used to live in where there were squirrels everywhere outside!

    I swear, it was like they felt I had invaded their territory because one day.. there was just all of these squirrels all over the house and running on the roof.

    Interesting to know that it actually had a possibilty of happening..

  4. Edit: I mean to say all over the outside of the house. Not that they were running around inside the house. Even though I think they’re really adorable.. that’d be too much.. =x

Leave a Reply

