Hormotional* and Green: Feminine Hygiene Products go Eco-Friendly

WARNING:  The following post is for women.  Actually, it’s only for some women.  If you have get dry heaves at the thought of using anything but a scented plastic applicator near your hoo-hoo, this post is probably not for you.

In case you’ve been sleeping under a rock without wi-fi for the last few years, you should know there is a movement afoot to go green with our lady gear.  Now, not only can our babies have soft tushie padding, we can too.  Most of the information out there seems to be coming from the same group of women who, like me, are totally obsessed with cloth diapers, natural parenting, recycling…all that crunchy stuff.  And there is some wacky wear for the derriere out there.

Um.  Yeah.

Greenyour is a site dedicated to lessening your carbon and/or maxi-pad footprint.  At least, this part of it is.  Included on this page are some truly awesome shops that have been making these for years.  They have great reputations and excellent products.

I should also mention the New Moon Cloth menstrual pads.  This company has been around for almost twenty years, and their site is filled with great information and a simple, easy to use product that looks good, too!  Not that you’ll go around showing it off, but every month you’ll get a little serotonin boost knowing you’re wearing something cute down there.  And who doesn’t want cloissone elephants in their undies?

Etsy, of course, is chock full of choices as always.  My personal favorite?  Say it with me gals – SOCK MONKEYS!  Yes, that’s right.  The perineal favorite (ha!  get it?) stuffed toy right there in your crotch.  But if that doesn’t shock your monkey, there are over 1200 results for a tag and title search on Etsy.  So add an extra tag like your favorite color, or “sugar skulls” (like it’s not scary enough, right?) and happy hunting.

“So,” you say, “what if I don’t like pads?  What kinds of alternatives are out there for me?”

Ladies, have I got some good news for you.  If your pelvic floor is still sturdy enough to use a tampon, there are several options available.

The first are a variety of cups like the Diva Cup and The Keeper that you simply insert (similarly to a diaphragm) and rinse out.  Then reinsert.  Easy peasy!  They are made from natural gum rubber or silicone and are phthalate and Bisphenol A (BPA) free.

But surely you know I’ve saved the best for last.  Or at least, the most humorous.

I’m not called Barely Knit Together for nothing.  Check this out:  Knitted tampons!  (cue choir of angels singing)  Aren’t they cute?  I haven’t tried these yet, but you bet I’m going to.  The pattern is super cheap at $0.50; it’s at least worth it just to laugh with your friends about your latest knitting project.

And if you just can’t do without your disposable feminine hygiene products, at least have the decency to hide them with these.  Someone please buy those squid, pronto, or I will have to do it myself.

As always, here are some links for you DIYers out there.  Free patterns to sew your own!

Cloth Menstrual Pads (free pattern)

Multi-layered with removable liner (dries faster!)

A fabulous site with tutorials, info on fabrics, sewing on-the-cheap, and different styles

These can all be laundered just like you would cloth diapers or towels or other such items.  Cold first, though, so as not to set the blood, then hot if you want them sterilized.  Of course, if you aren’t planning to eat off of them, you might want to save your hot water**.  Your call.

And just so you know, even though I’ve handled this topic glibly, I do mean what I say about this being a great idea.  I, for one, am glad to never again have to hear the crinkle sound of plastic and paper when I walk.  And as a bonus (can I say it again?) –  Sock monkeys!

Stop in for next week’s Fiber Friday giveaway, featuring a free jewelry item from the Bunny in Disguise Etsy shop!

*Ooh!  I got to use a new word 🙂

**Kidding!  Sheesh.

14 Responses to “Hormotional* and Green: Feminine Hygiene Products go Eco-Friendly”

  1. Will you please report in next month after you have actually used these items, squeezed their bloody remains out in the toilet or sink, and added them to your mountain of laundry? I want to make an informed decison.

    • Actually, I have used the pads. I like them a lot, but I’m already doing the mountain of diaper laundry so it’s not as bad as if my kids were older and I was past that phase. ‘Cause, you know, teenagers have *so* much less laundry and they do it themselves, right?

      But I do wonder about the whole in-public issue. What do you do if your cup overfloweth in Target? Walk out to the sink with your pants around your ankles? Or just dump it in the toilet and go to the sink to wash your bloody hands? I think I’ll stick to pads. Except those knitted tampons. Those I gotta try.

  2. All I can say is – thank God for Menopause!

  3. I use the Diva Cup and I love it. Yes, it’s a little weirder in public, but it’s no worse than being caught in public without a tampon or pad. It took a while for me to get used to it, but now I love it. It’s relatively hassle free. One of my favorites is, if I’m going to be out all day, not having to guess how heavy a day it will be. Another nice thing is that on light days, you don’t worry about having to change it as often. For tampons there’s always a time limit because of TSS. I’ve had mine for almost 5 years at this point. Wouldn’t go back to tampons for anything.

    • Liz, thank you for that information! I have wanted to try it, I’ve just been pregnant and/or breastfeeding so long I haven’t really invested in anything so long term. But now that it looks like I’m done bearing children, I might take the plunge. BTW, I hope you like your yarn! Thanks for visiting again 🙂

  4. Great post. I really wanted to find a selection of the options out there. I hadn’t heard of sock monkey pads!

  5. Well done! Thank you for taking requests.

  6. I love my yarn! It’s going to become a lovely cowl using a pattern designed by my friend. I’ll be sure to post pictures!

  7. I second the menstrual cups. Other than (just yesterday) having dropped mine in the toilet (at home), they are pretty easy to use once you get the hang of getting that sucker in there–which has a learning curve all it’s own. I’m on my 3rd mooncup month, and am lucky to say I’ve yet to have an in-public disaster happen! Keeping a nice little baggie of wipes in your purse for usual kids messes can come in handy if you need a quick clean up for a public dumping of the cup. Wow, this is way TMI! Nice post, BTW!

  8. Ok, even though I sent you some of those links, I am still laughing so hard I’m about to fall off my chair. I love the way you write!

  9. Posting said for women only, but as a heterosexually-challenged man I decided to gaze a few paragraphs. Then I stopped. I am so glad that I don’t have a “hoo hoo.”

  10. I have a Diva Cup. Not for me.

    But I do LOVE my cloth pads. I made them myself – some out of my husband’s old flannel pajamas. HA They are great.

    I’m totally in love with the knit tampons though. That’s freaking genius.

    ~Tara

  11. i use a diva cup, too! i love it! with earth day in our periphery, i am trying to help get the word out about this amazing, GREEN product! too much in our landfills, i feel good about stopping that whole cycle (no pun intended..!) save our earth, buy reusable feminine hygiene!

Leave a Reply

