Geek is the New Chic: Yarn Theory in Practice

Growing up, when I heard the word “knitting” I thought of those haloed, plastic-feeling acrylic baby blankets, old ladies in rocking chairs, and the world’s most unflattering sweaters.  If you know enough to have found this blog, chances are you know the needle arts have come a long way.

Not only do we now have thousands of  amazing patterns available for funky clothing, accessories, and even lingerie, but we have BODY PARTS (just in time for Valentine’s Day)!

And in line with our total geekiness, I am writing today about one of my very own LYSs (that’s Local Yarn Store for people like me who are new to the lingo) whose name comes from the field of physics.  Yarn Theory in Bedford, Virginia, owned and operated by Jan Mosely.

The LYS is beginning to take the place of the coffee klatch, girls’ night out, and other forms of therapy.  Yarn Theory is no exception.  Every Thursday evening from 6 pm to 8 pm you can find anywhere from two to twelve knitters seated in the comfortable conversation area in the middle of the store.  The store itself is situated in downtown Bedford, in an old house with a lovely wrap-around porch.

Jan personally welcomes people to the store, which is soothingly tidy and homey.  She seems an unlikely candidate for a yarn store owner, as a former physics major (yes, she graduated), but she joined the cult of the knit and never looked back.

I figured I would pose the same question to her that I posted last week here – where is the strangest place you’ve ever knit?

Like many of you, she didn’t think it was all that strange that she knitted on the TGV (a high-speed train through France).  But when I asked her the oddest item she ever created – well, it puts Baby’s First DNA Model to shame.

While studying physics in college Jan handed in an assignment that included her interpretation of the origin of the universe.  Knitted.  She says it was many-colored, and had a series of ever enlarging triangles in a spiral.  The end was, of course, unfinished (whew!).  I would love to post a picture, but she left it there.  In fact, it was on display at Loyola University in New Orleans for a time, and for all she knows it still is.

While there, I of course fondled every single yarn in the place.  She keeps some Mmmmmmalabrigo, Auracania, some really gorgeous sock yarns, some specialty bling yarns, and some super reasonably priced wool in a great assortment of colors and a variety of weights.  There are really tons of others, but I’m so addicted to Malabrigo Worsted I had a hard time walking away.  As for her favorite yarn, Jan says, “Whatever I want to work on next is my favorite yarn, not necessarily what I’m working on now.”

If you are anywhere near the Lynchburg, Bedford, or Roanoke areas, her store is definitely worth the trip.  If for no other reason than being in a store with such a great, geeky name.

And so you know, I have no affiliation with Yarn Theory or its owner, nor is this a paid advertisement; I just wanted to highlight a local business.

Jan shares tips and techniques with Teresa

Jan shares tips and techniques with Teresa

yarn-theory-1

5 Responses to “Geek is the New Chic: Yarn Theory in Practice”

  1. I alos had a dated idea about knitting until so very ecently. i’m still struggling along…

    Great links, will follow. Wish i had a store like that nearby!

  2. Teresa Love Says:

    Very nice blog ? on the LYS which is Yarn Theory. Glad to have met u the day u came in. I work at the YT on Thursday and Fridays and whenever Jan needs me so if u are in Bedford come on in and have a cup of tea. Thanks and hope to see u agaon in the LYS. Teresa

  3. Hi, you summed up the “yarn”. But one little fact that is really awesome for the “beginner” is that when you walk into Yarn Theory, you will be helped with whatever your question and patiently! Jan taught me so much and I will be forever in her debt – although my husband would prefer I DIDN’T love the yarn and the patterns and the “favorite” yarn of the moment. He does, however, love the fact that not only am I learning to knit beautiful items, I’m finding a hobby and craft that I truly enjoy.

    Thank you, Jan and Teresa for all that you do,
    Kathy M.

  4. marsha pettitt Says:

    Hi Jan from Atlanta,
    My daugher lives in Bedford and I am hoping she will come into your store and take a class soon. I will definately stop by every visit to Beford. Thank you Jan for showing me how to bind off when I was in your store and answering my many questions. I sure wish your store wasn’t so far away.

    Hope to viist soon,
    Marsha Pettitt

Leave a Reply

