The Chaff from the Wheat

I have come up with a way to decide whether to purge an item from your home or keep it.

Perhaps to most people, this is easy stuff, and not worth devising a litmus test for, but I have something of a…problem.

I sew things from recycled fabric and sweaters, so I see potential in nearly every scrap of whatever I have lying around in this crazy house.  I see purses, teddy bears, hats, and, if nothing else – stuffing.  And I knit too.  If you are a knitter, you know what I’m talking about.  The Stash.  As if the fabric wasn’t enough, I have yarn strewn everywhere.  Yarn, if you didn’t know, makes an excellent invention ingredient.  I often find it tied in the most amazing knots to my chairs and whatever else is handy.

But I digress.  My super special secret is this:  the vacuum cleaner test.  Say for the sake of argument that everything you own could get sucked into your vacuum cleaner.  And it’s not a fancy purple and teal bagless one, either.  Would you retrieve it?  If the answer is no, then the item goes the the thrift store.  Or even the trash.  If it’s worth digging through microscopic particles of DNA (what do you think dust is made of?), then you win the right to continue to store it even though your bread machine is on the floor because there is no other place to put it.

I’m sure you are wondering what brilliant flash of insight led me to devise this marvelous system of purging.

Ahem.

I’ll never tell.

Leave a Reply

