Punctuation

My babies are curled into me, in that space between chin and thigh that forms when I lie down.  We are a comma, a parenthesis at the end of a very long day.  I have yelled and grabbed and stomped and slammed, and the day is not quite over.  Now we just have to settle the one who elicits all the storminess from me.  He lay still and sweetly silent for a moment, then something inside him says, “Now,” and he reaches out to pinch, or bite. Or he rears his heavy head back and it meets a smaller head.  The struggling begins again until it exhausts itself momentarily in a collapse of teary sobs, and once more we mark the end of something, still and curved in the dark.

I love the comma, the parenthesis, the ellipsis.  The trailing off or the pause.  And I long for a day with no exclamation point.

4 Responses to “Punctuation”

  1. lookingforlifeshumor Says:

    creative post – I like it! I feel that way sometimes too. My son (With autism) certainly brings with him a new way of experiencing all of the moments.

  2. This is a beautiful poem. It evokes feelings I know, that I have felt in those long days that came before. That still come, but in a different colored package.

  3. I’ve re-read this half a dozen times. I love the swing from peace to mild chaos back to peace again. A lovely meditation on a parenting moment…

  4. This is so beautiful. It’s a truth that I think we can all relate to as mothers. Powerfully written.

Leave a Reply

