Legend

I cannot remember,

all these years since,

any of the words we used.

I cannot recall the substance, the starts, the subjects.

Only the feelings, brought back to life in me now

familiar as water

as my own skin

as blood.

I remember the clouds roiling around us,

you holding my hair back as

everything spun out of control.

And I wish I could rise up and see you

from a distance,

as small and insignificant as myself.

I would be above –

able to calm the fear.

Instead, you are Prometheus

unbound

mythical

and unattainable.

Instead, you rise over me

and quell the very fire

you put in me.

One Response to “Legend”

Leave a Reply

