Borrowed Ideas

I just got this idea off of Delicate Flower and decided since I’m trying to prepare for Indie Art Market I better find a lazy way to post. Like you didn’t already know too much about me, here goes:

Rules: 1. Respond and rework; answer the questions on your blog, replace one question that you dislike with a question of your invention, add one more question of your own.   2. Tag other people.

What is your current obsession?

-My children falling from great heights into fast-flowing water. Oh, wait – you mean like a fun obsession? I would say it’s iced chai tea with soy milk. And nuno felting. More on that later.

What did you wear today?

-My pajamas. Or at least, the clothes I slept in, which is just a black v-neck tshirt. And I did manage to add yoga pants before leaving the house. The shirt was clean when I put it on, and my body was clean too, so it’s not as bad as it sounds. Okay, yeah. It is.

What’s for dinner?

-Tonight it’s “whatever husband can go out and purchase.” Most likely Chick-Fil-A. I am speaking about doulas at tonight’s Birth Matters Lynchburg meeting. You should come.

What would you eat for your last meal?

-Ecstasy.  Sorry, husband. I’m dying anyway, right?

What are you listening to right now?

-The sound of one house clapping about the children being gone for the morning.

What language do you want to learn?

-All of them. Seriously. But in order of immediacy, I’d have to say: 1. Spanish (I already know some) 2. Italian 3. German 4. French (I can read a fair amount of French already) 5. Japanese 6. Russian 7. Chinese 8. Zulu.  I pick up languages fairly easily, and in fact taught myself Spanish. I had three years of French in high school but can’t really converse, though I can, as noted, still read some.

What do you love most about where you currently live?
I can walk to a park, a bookstore, a gourmet deli, a college campus, a bike trail, a river, my favorite coffee shop, the house I grew up in, downtown, and some of my good friends’ houses. And I can hear the trains thundering through all day.

What style is your current home decorated in?

-Early American-Swedish “Family of Five on One Income” (lots of Ikea, which looks really funny in a 102 year old house)

If you were a time traveler what era would you live in?

1920s-1940s. I would be a flapper, of course, to start with. A wildly inappropriate woman who likes to have fun and do the jitterbug. And actually, that description fits me now.

What is your favorite color?
You know that color you sometimes see at twilight when the sky isn’t completely dark yet but it’s a deep, deep blue and the trees are all silhouetted black against it? That color. And also, aubergine.

What is your favorite piece of clothing in your wardrobe?

-Can it be shoes? My Sketchers oxblood, shit-kicker boots that I got at the Goodwill last year. They almost make me wish it would get cold again. Almost.

What are your favorite films?

-I love violence. I do not know why. So here they are: 1. Wild At Heart 2. True Romance 3. Very Bad Things 4. Burn After Reading 5. Memento 6. Lock, Stock and Two Smoking Barrels   And also some that aren’t so violent: 7. Princess Bride 8. Ever After (embarrassing, I know) 9. Mo’ Better Blues

Your favorite books?

-This list would be entirely too long. But here are a few 1. One Hundred Years of Solitude 2. Like Water for Chocolate 3. Cold Mountain

Do you collect anything?

Yes. Phobias. And also, turtles. But not real ones.

Okay, that’s enough. I cheated and cut out the questions that would be too boring for you to read my answers to. Plus, some crafty goodness awaits me.

Just look at this nuno felt extravaganza!

Just look at this nuno felt extravaganza!

17 Responses to “Borrowed Ideas”

  1. You know I love your ecstasy answer! I can’t believe you didn’t have “No country for old men,” “The Departed” or “Goodfellas” in there though! Anyway I did like your lazy ass post! Have fun at your dohicky thing!

    • Ooh! I DO love “The Departed.” It’s what made me finally recognize Baby Face DiCaprio as a valid actor. I mean, Catch Me if You Can was great, but he was still a kid, you know? Damn. Now I want to watch it again. I didn’t see “No Country.” I’ll have to check it out on your recommendation. ;)

  2. I wish you all the best tonight. Knock ‘em doula!

    My favourite book is “Fun With Dick and Jane”

    Those two mites were forever getting up to all kinds of crazy antics.

  3. That blue is absolutely my favorite color too! I know just what you mean. What is it called? Arggh.

  4. Nuno Felting
    Doulas
    Aubergine

    ENGLISH!!!! Be back after I google all this crap so I can understand what you are talking about.

    • Welcome to BKT Vocabulary Boot Camp. Yesterday, we featured the arts, career options, and French words for vegetables and colors that are more aurally pleasing than their English counterparts. Today we feature foods.

    • delicate flower Says:

      surely you know aubergine? really…. it’s a color.. you’re an artist..

  5. Since I was the Tri-County Nuno Felting Champion in high school, I think I’ve earned the right to go outside your categories (not that there is anything wrong with them) and add my own.

    Favorite Artists:
    Van Gogh
    Cezanne
    Franz Kline
    Richard Diebenkorn
    Cindy Sherman
    Man Ray

    Favorite Photographers:
    William Eggleston
    William Christenberry
    Man Ray (again)
    Saul Leiter
    Alfred Stieglitz
    Eliot Porter

    Favorite writers:
    Anton Chekhov
    Don DeLillo
    Flannery O’Connor
    Raymond Carver
    Marcel Proust
    Vladimir Nabokov

    • More of my own favorites:
      Favorite bar: Whiskey A Gogh Gogh
      Favorite sarcastic expression: Says Anne!
      Favorite effeminate name: Franz
      Favorite way to sound more culturally aware than I am: Make up names of German artists then scoff at people who say they’ve never heard of them.
      Favorite photgrapher/animal: Sally Mann Cow Nosed Ray (she lives forty minutes from me)
      Favorite writer: Dom DeLillouise
      Favorite dessert: Flan Au Connor
      Favorite mime: Marcel Marceau Proust
      Favorite writer to name children after: Samuel Beckett
      Favorite blogger who is impressively Rennaissance: Fundamental Jelly

      Thanks for playing! As a parting gift, you will receive my…my…well, would you like my first born? You can have her, she’s about to get her driver’s license and will be needing insurance. I’ll ship her right out.

  6. I like your movie choices BKT

    And Mr Jelly, lovely to meet another Cindy Sherman fan :-)

  7. delicate flower Says:

    glad to provide a little inspiration or fodder for a lazy day. Andy at Trouserstogrow.blogspot.com also did the questions with a bit of a twist.. as did YorksnBeans.blogspot.com

    nice list of books and movies to you and FJ… I could read for days, weeks.. must come up with a condensed list of authors. I”ve never read Delillo so must add him to the list.

  8. Oooh, I like that! “A wildly inappropriate woman who likes to have fun.” Can I be one, too? At last I have a non-writing-related goal.

    • Yes, you absolutely can be one – as long as I can be a floozy of some sort like you! I just love that word, “floozy.” I want to be the bee’s knees of floozies. ;)

      Thanks for dropping in!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

